top of page
Search
  • Trent Schroer

Blog #2

I researched the spork for my individual research project. What I learned from researching sporks, is that sometimes the solution to a problem, is the simplest possible solution. I can definitely transfer this logic to my JPL project. For example, I need to design a mechanism to release ping pong balls from a tube. Maybe the proper way to do this is as simple as a door held in place with a spring.


As far as a schedule for my JPL project goes, everything is running smoothly. Due to the simplistic nature of our design, it is easy to design and test our device. We designed it with simplicity in mind, so that any potential problems or adjustments can be solved/made quickly and effortlessly. Additionally, there are two separate systems involved in our device, and one of them is completely dependent on the other. Ideally, we can change any aspect of the first system without affecting the performance of the whole system.


I don't really foresee any problems that would be critical to the functionality of the project. There are some minor issues that probably will happen however. A lot of parts are going to be 3D printed, and multiple people are designing them, there are going to be some issues as far as tolerances of the designs and how they fit together. However, because they going to be printed, it will be easy to change them.


Okay enough engineering stuff. What's going on in my personal life? Well not much. No seriously, kinda boring.









8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Blog #6 (Second Semester #2)

The biggest challenge that I have had with the Capstone Project so far, is finding good information from consumers and expert reviews. With that information, we could focus on a particular aspect that

Blog #5 (Second Semester)

I am most excited about my capstone project this semester, mostly due to the fact that this is my last semester of high school, and this is the last year of PLTW for me. Also, I am excited about my ca

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page